Journey takes grand prize at GDC 2013 awards

Thatgamecompany wins in six categories

The 2013 Game Developers Conference awards have been announced in San Francisco, with Journey taking out the top award.


Thatgamecompany's Journey went home with a total of six awards at the ceremony, including the Game of the Year award.

The Sony-exclusive also won Best Downloadable Game, Best Visual Arts, Best Game Design, Best Audio and the Innovation Award.

Small studios reigned supreme, with the likes of Journey, The Walking Dead, FTL and The Room outnumbering larger, Triple-A titles on the winners list.

Richard Hofmeier's Cart Life took out the grand prize at the Independent Game Festival awards ceremony.

The winners:

Best downloadable game: Journey (Thatgamecompany)
Best narrative: The Walking Dead (Telltale Games)
Best visual arts: Journey (Thatgamecompany)
Ambassador of the year: Chris Melissinos
Best technology: Far Cry 3 (Ubisoft)
Best game design: Journey (Thatgamecompany)
Best handheld/mobile game: The Room (Newgrounds)
Best audio: Journey (Thatgamecompany)
Pioneer award: Steve Russell
Best debut game: FTL - Faster Than Light (Subset Games)
Innovation award: Journey (Thatgamecompany)
Audience award: Dishonored (Arkane)
IGDA lifetime achievement: Ray Muzyka and Greg Zeschuk (BioWare)
Game of the year: Journey